Congress Takes Action to Protect American Jobs – H.R. 2681

As reported by PRNewswire

WASHINGTON, Oct. 6, 2011 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ — Today’s bipartisan passage of “Cement Sector Regulatory Relief Act of 2011” (H.R. 2681) by the U.S. House of Representatives illustrates the importance of putting in place balanced regulations that preserve jobs.

Introduced by Rep. John Sullivan (R-OK) and Rep. Mike Ross (D-AR), along with a bipartisan group of their colleagues, the legislation requires the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to re-propose three recent environmental rules directed at the Portland cement industry.  Although domestic cement manufacturers are among the most highly regulated enterprises in the country, they recently faced an avalanche of new regulations.  The bill addresses the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) rule for the Portland cement industry, the commercial and industrial solid waste incinerator rule and associated definition of “solid waste,” and, lastly, the new source performance standards rule.

Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Mary Landrieu (D-LA) introduced a companion bill last month.

“Passage of this legislation allows the industry to continue its dialogue with EPA with the goal of crafting rational and feasible emission standards,” Brian McCarthy, president and CEO of the Portland Cement Association (PCA) said. “We are not shying away from environmental regulations.  We have a long history of investing in continuous improvements that preserve U.S. manufacturing capacity and the economy.”

Reflecting the Congress’ widespread concern regarding job loss, in addition to Reps. Sullivan and Ross, H.R. 2681 was co-sponsored by Reps. Jason Altmire (D-PA), Steve Austria (R-OH), Spencer Bachus (R-AL),  Joe Barton (R-TX), Dan Benishek (R-MI), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Dan Boren (D-OK), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), John Carter (R-TX), Howard Coble (R-NC), Mark Critz (D-PA), Charlie Dent (R-PA), Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Jo Ann Emerson (R-MO), Randy Forbes (R-VA), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Tim Holden (D-PA), Adam Kinzinger (R-IL), Larry Kissell (D-NC), Lynn Jenkins (R-KS), Bob Latta (R-OH), David McKinley (R-WV), Alan Nunnelee (R-MS), Mike Pompeo (R-KS), Bill Posey (R-FL), Nick Rahall (D-WV), David Rivera (R-FL), Mike Rogers, (R-AL), Thomas Rooney (R-FL), Steve Southerland (R-FL), Lee Terry (R-NE), Greg Walden (R-OR), Allen West (R-FL), and Rob Woodall (R-GA).



Leave a Comment

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.